FACT: No, not necessarily. While pure dark chocolate is supposed to be made without milk or milk products, not all dark chocolate is considered pure or produced in the same way. Plus, dark chocolate may be produced in the same facility or on the same equipment that makes milk chocolate, and cross-contamination can occur. Always read the list of ingredients and any “may contain” statements for milk on all dark chocolate products you’re thinking about buying. Additionally, contact the manufacturer with any questions you may have about how products have been made.
Note for those consumers allergic to milk and considering vegan options: Pure dark chocolate may be appropriate for vegans, as by definition it’s supposed to be made without milk/milk products. However, not all dark chocolate products may be safe options for those with a milk allergy, and may be labelled with a ‘May contain milk’ statement. Remember to read the list of ingredients and “may contain” statements and contact the manufacturer with any questions.Cross-contamination, mythbuster, reading food labels